Theatremonkey®.com

 

Cookies: to find out more or learn how to changing your settings, click here. We are pleased to accept your consent to our policy if you are happy to continue without doing so.   
 

London Theatre & Music Venues' Expert Seat Reviewer and Discount Deal Hunter.
The Trusted Independent Insider Listings Guide since 2000.

SEE ALL DISCOUNT LONDON THEATRE TICKET SPECIAL OFFERS
Home Page
Buy the Site Book
Buy Tickets
SEARCH THE SITE
By Venue Name
By Show Title
For Best Seat Info
For Seating Plans
For Show Time Schedule
For Day Seat Information
CHECK OUT THE
Latest Special Offers
Tips, Hints & Features
Top Five Charts
GUEST SERVICES
Theatremonkey Ticketshop
Buy CDs, Books etc
Hotel plus Show Deals
Venue Access Guide
Theatre Dictionary
FAQ's & About Us
Contact Us
Blog and Book Extracts
Take The Site Tour
Join Our Mailing List
Links To Other Sites
Other Gifts
Tourist Attraction Ticket Shop




 

 

 

 



(FREE call if using BT.com Calling Plan at your chosen times)

"THE MOUSETRAP"
Earlier Opinions from Theatremonkey Contributors

Reviews below may refer to cast members who have now left the production.

Back to Show Information.

__________________________________________________________________

I saw "The Mousetrap" a little while ago and am totally amazed that it has lasted over fifty years. Twenty minutes into the play I was incredibly bored. By the end I was too busy thinking of other things to actually work out who did it. All I can remember is a lounge room and people sitting around talking. Was about as riveting as going to my grandmother place for afternoon tea as a child.   

Needless to say, I don't recommend anyone spending good money to go and see something quite so bad... unless you have a bad case of insomnia and are looking for a cure!!
_______________________

Saw "The Mousetrap" last night (30th April 2004). Enjoyed it, but have to admit I only went so that I could "cross it off my list" so to speak. I felt duty-bound to go and see something that has been running for 50 years. 

Sat in  row A (11 and 12) of the Upper Circle - good view but terrible leg room. Did a monkey trick in the Interval and relocated to the front stalls - the theatre was half empty - nobody seemed to notice / care. 

Nice announcement by "the murderer" at the end of the curtain call as to not reveal "whodunnit!"
_______________________

Saw the matinee on Tuesday 31st August 2004. Good show, I thought. All the subtleties made it good, like the slightly melodramatic acting!

Barfly
_______________________

We saw The Mousetrap last night (12th December 2005) and had a thoroughly good time. I'm no expert but I'd say that it was a faultless performance. We really got into it, as did others, and the 'whodunnit' chatter could be heard during the interval.

The plot is excellent with lots of little twists along the way. I can see why this show has lasted so long. I know who the culprit is now but I've been sworn to secrecy by one of the cast! I didn't guess that they'd done it but my girlfriend did.

We sat in the stalls, along with 30 or so other people. There were others sitting in the circle seats, but not many. It wouldn't have mattered if it had been just my girlfriend and I there to be honest because the ambience of the theatre is almost tangible.

I'm over six foot tall and was glad that I had booked an aisle seat although we could have sat in row G or anywhere else if we had wanted to move. My girlfriend is 5'4" and said that she could have done with a bit more legroom. I would recommend that if you get a chance reserve seats in row G.

We would highly recommend this show even if you just go there with the intention to cross it off the list. You'll be glad that you went.
______________________

Great stuff!

I am *so* not a theatre goer. I can't help comparing plays to movies, and in that light even the biggest production invariably comes off looking like low budget fare.

The few plays I've been dragged to over the years, have either held me in a near sleep state, dreaming of ways to make my escape, or in the worst (read: artsy) cases, wishing for the "break a leg" phrase to come true for one or more of the actors.

Still, being in London for the first time and considering the extremely high regard I have for British TV actors, who I know often have theatre backgrounds, I felt almost duty bound to go see a play.

Browsing the theatre guide, my eyes fell upon the small, blue add for "The Mousetrap". Always having loved Agatha Christie's whodunnits, I figured this one something of a safe bet. Anyway, having run for over 50 years, how bad could it be?

Well, I'm very glad I chose "The Mousetrap", because not only was it the most enjoyable time I've ever spent in a theatre (admittedly not a major accomplishment), but it was thoroughly enjoyable time spent in it's own right.

Not a large production by any stretch, the single set provided everything necessary.

The cast (7th April 2006) did a brilliant job with just the right amount of overacting for what was just as much of a comedy as a murder mystery. Whether that was how it was meant to be played in the 1950s I've no idea, but it was great entertainment here and now.

I'd recommend it to anyone who are really into whodunnits. Especially those who aren't too sure about this whole theatre thing.

KR
Denmark
_____________________

I sat in the Dress Circle, row C (seat 10) to watch Theatreland's most famous production. Plenty of leg room ensured no aching legs, however I was unlucky enough to have someone 6ft plus sat in front of me. As a result part of the stage was obscured, but this did not spoil the enjoyment.

I don't want to give anything away especially as you are requested at the finale not to reveal the identity of the murderer to any person who hasn't seen The Mousetrap.

I will however state that the actors who took part in this production were fantastic, especially the actor who took the part of Christopher Wren who was extremely entertaining.

Go and see "The Mousetrap", no visit to Theatreland whilst in London is complete without going to see it.
______________________

16th November 2007:

The cast make a good job of it but its not exactly a great play as its longevity would suggest. It has enough charm to fill the first act and the second enjoys sending you down the wrong paths, twisting and turning until the final Revelation - which you wont see coming but then also won't ever truly "care" about.

However its the experience as a whole - the utterly charming wooden theatre, the clockwork presentation of the piece and the entrance into the "club" (of both being a part of this historical play and knowing the ending) that makes it a wonderful cultural and historical experience, rather than a dramatic one. Its almost a museum to post war theatre. In short;

"It exists in celebration of its own continued existence"

Seat information I've gathered from 1995 and 2003 (approx):
Mousetrap seats: they are all cramped and wooden with little leg room and certainly no width; and their sweeping arch means its a gamble if you get legroom due to the seat in front being curved.

The View from Row B aisle of upper circle was surprisingly the best of my 3 visits and was VERY cheap - though I was glad to be able to swing my leg into the aisle, and then swapped with the man on the other side for the interval so both legs got a stretch - worked for us both. The height gives it a slightly grander view and allows you to see the character rather than the actor - (which in something so full of stereotypes - lets you know where you stand)

The rear Dress Circle was god awful - no decent rake, no leg room and very stuffy.

The front centre stalls had better leg room, and you were right in the thick of it, but somehow, seeing the actors so clearly took away from my enjoyment of this show - Up close it all looks more real and as such its downfalls are magnified and you don't get the period feel with modern faces; from a height its almost time travel, as though your looking down on a show from 50 years ago.

Matinees are packed with school - however school kids can control themselves in this sort of play in a way they clearly can not when watching something interactive and thrilling like the "Woman in Black".

Aitchy

PS- the total weight of those tiny ice cream pot over the years equates to just under two and a half 747 jumbo jets!
________________________

Took my sophisticated 12-year-old daughter to this and she loved it! Wildly dated but still fun and the ending is a great surprise. She’s telling all her friends to go.

Sat in Upper Circle F3 and 4 which are directly under massive fan – before we expired of hypothermia, we were all allowed to move forward because the theatre was half empty (a popular Monkey ploy, I think I remember). We ended up in A 8 and 9. The bar didn’t prevent us from seeing anything relevant in this production.

But if you were ever to add a section for recommended seats for menopausal women prone to hot flushes, F 3 and 4 and the equivalent on the other side of the aisle are probably more efficient than HRT...
________________________

14 November 2009

Bought tickets online for 'The Mousetrap' - great show, but thought I would share my thoughts on the seats I bought.

Seats D5 and D6 in the Upper Circle - paid £25 online but actually could buy for £20 at the theatre - if you buy one week in advance there is plenty of availability.

The seats had NO legroom and I am only 1.72 m (5' 8"). Good view and could hear everything. The biggest problem was the heat. Everyone was peeling off layers, since the ceiling fan is only on before the show and during intervals. Would not buy these seats again. Noticed that Row A had much more legroom but restricted view with safety bar.

R.Durack
_________________________

 

Back to Show Information.

 

 

.

 


Buy Tickets



Site © Theatremonkey.com 2000 to 2018. "Theatremonkey"® and "Theatermonkey are a Registered Trade Mark. Buy your tickets with confidence here: Theatremonkey.com is an Affiliate Member of STAR - The Society Of Ticket Agents and Retailers - please do feel free to confirm its membership by clicking the verification system graphic (left). All rights reserved. Information on this site may not be reproduced in any form, by any distribution media, in whole or in part, without permission. This means that you MUST NOT copy graphics or text for posting on another website. Opinions expressed are those of the site owner and / or contributors, and are not those of the site host or service providers. Tickets sold from links on this site - and any other information given - are the responsibility of the supplying company, not theatremonkey.com.
Comments about this page are welcome Contact Us. No responsibility is taken for accuracy of information, No liability can be taken for loss relating to individual use of data contained on this site. 'About Cookies' and 'Our Website, Your Privacy': The theatremonkey.com website DOES NOT use "cookies" on its website at any time. It does link to sites which do use "cookies" to track sales / site navigation information. Click Here for more information - as required by the 2012 UK E-Privacy Directive. Use of this site constitutes agreement with the above. E&OE. Last Update: 12 April 2018 09:55